Battle of the Shire pres. by FCS

Cronulla Sharks Boardriders Battle of the Shire

Battle of the Shire pres. by FCS

It was like the good old days for surfers. North Cronulla Beach hosted an action-packed weekend of surf competition with the Volkswagen Tradies Surfmaster’s, Kombi Rally, Battle of the Shire pres. by FCS and of course, the two day Volkswagen Cronulla Open, all wrapping up following unpredictable weather and wild surf.

On Saturday competitors Hayden Blair, Nichola Turner and Glenn Pringle all flew the flag for the locals taking Surf Masters wins in their respective age divisions.

All three surfers showed their local knowledge in the onshore and shifty beach breaks, punching a handful of snaps and carves to claim their victories.

But it was Cronulla Boardriders 1980 club champion Wayne Roach who had the pundits on their feet in a duel for the ages with Cronulla Point Boardriders President John Lavers who fought it out in the over 65’s.

Both Lavers and Roach had heat victories before the wily old Roachy took the win and the trophy on a countback with the best wave score.

Cronulla Sharks Boardriders took out the Battle of the Shire pres. by FCS against six other Surfing Sutherland Shire teams.

Thanks to some stellar surfing from Jordan Turansky, Hayden Blair, Jay Brown, Jordan Widenstrom and star 13-year-old Grace Gosby the club took bragging rights over Elouera, Sandshoes, Christian Surfers, Garie, Cronulla Point and the Cronulla Girls.